Jacquel Rassenworth on September 11, 2013

September 11th news
September 11th news (Photo credit: Ann Althouse)

When I was 5 years old, something happened that nearly shattered my faith in humanity (not that my mother’s death or the fact that she was illegally adopted didn’t already happen).

This happened before I had a clue of what stupidity looked like.

The September 11attacks, which occurred on this day 12 years ago.

I don’t know if you remember what happened on that day, but I thought they were showing some ultimate live action movie. But when I noticed my kindergarten teacher sobbing, then I knew that it was for real.

So, what do I have to say about this day?

Plenty, everyone. Plenty. You know Jacquel Rassenworth doesn’t hold anything back.

Anyway, moving on…

By the time that five years had passed since 9/11, I was 10 years old. That was also the first time that I learned a certain person’s name and nothing that was good happened to that person. (How and why they mentioned her and no one else, I don’t understand nor do I approve of to this day.) Plus, how d duo you remember something that happened when you were five years old?

On the 10th anniversary of 9/11, I was 15 years old. That time, it was a bit easier to understand what had happened on that day and why it happened, but I still have failed to understand what some people have got against the United States of America. What have we done that offended them to the point of them wanting to attack our country? I know it can’t be the dumb mistakes that the country had made over the years, so it can’t be that.

What motivated these people to do what they did, which resulted in an entire culture receiving a bad name?

This year, I will (for better or worse) try to understand evil and hate.

This blog post is in memory of all those, fictional and real, who died unnecessary deaths on September 11, 2001. Something that never should have happened at all. I’ll be back with more.

Posted from WordPress for Android

