Jacquel Rassenworth on the Beatles

English: The Beatles wave to fans after arrivi...

English: The Beatles wave to fans after arriving at Kennedy Airport. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

50 years ago, a group of young men showed up in America and changed the way we thought about music. They left their homes in Liverpool and came to America to perform their music.

And America hasn’t been the same since.

my father was little more than a baby when the Beatles came, so he wouldn’t remember seeing them on the Ed Sullivan Show, but Aunt Lorraine (who was 6), Aunt Susan (who was 9) and Aunt Margaux (who was 15) told me of their excitement over seeing the Beatles on TV. With songs such as “I Wanna Hold Your Hand“, “Hey Jude“, and “Yellow Submarine“, John, Paul, George, and Ringo had won scores of fans for life.

But it wasn’t until I was about 8 years old when I discovered the Beatles.

I was looking for a song to use in a parody of a band from a foreign country coming to America and I came across the story of the Beatles. Being intrigued by their music, I told Shar, Scott, and Maddy about what I had found.

And the rest, they say, was history.

Happy 50 years to the Beatles!

(and now, back to the Olympics, where the home country needs to step it up if we’re going to pull through and claim the gold medal!)

Enhanced by Zemanta
