Jacquel Rassenworth on Shirley Temple Black

Shirley_Temple

Shirley_Temple (Photo credit: hto2008)

Today, I learned (from the ever-reliable Maddy Haroldson) that Shirley Temple had recently died. At first, I didn’t know who she was, seeing as I don’t know much about the pop culture from before I was born. But then I discovered that cousin Olga kept a collection of Shirley Temple DVDs and we spent the whole weekend watching all the Shirley Temple movies (when we weren’t watching the slopestyle, of course!)

Anyway, how could I not have known about Shirley Temple before now? I mean, a cute little girl with curly blond hair and an infectious smile brought joy to the United States, a country that clearly needed to be cheered up after the Great Stock Market Crash in 1929. Who knows what she would have done for movies had she not retired from filming movies?

Well, the world today seems to be a duller place without her around. She will be missed.

Enhanced by Zemanta
