Jacquel Rassenworth on Father’s Day

HAPPY FATHERS DAY
HAPPY FATHERS DAY (Photo credit: Insight Imaging: John A Ryan Photography)

As we all know, today is Father’s Day, a day to celebrate the fathers in our lives.

Except for me, who thinks that Father’s Day is a day to apologize for failing to be the child that he wanted me to be.

My whole life, I always felt like I was letting him down; here’s a poem that illustrates how terrible I was as a child:

When I was a child, he gave me a lollipop, but I demanded a carrot instead. I was told that carrots made tastier treats than sweets.

When he got me a bike for my fifth birthday, I asked for a doll instead. When he asked me why, I said that I would rather play with dolls than fall off a bike and get cuts and bruises.

I always insisted on dressing in pink even though there were different colors of the rainbow. When dad asked why, I simply said that girls should only wear pink.

The older I got, the harder it was for the both of us to see eye to eye. He wanted me to be tough, but I was better off soft.

On my tenth birthday, instead of a trip to the baseball game, I decided to have a tea party instead. Dad went along with it, but I wondered if he secretly complained about his daughter’s lack of realism, or his lack of understanding.

On my 13th birthday, things changed.

I refused to be popular and have lots of friends; instead, I kept myself quiet and out of the way.

But being quiet and out of the way was the big reason why I was sent to Forks.

But now that I am older and a bit wiser than I was when I was 13, I realized that dad wanted me to be tough.

But I didn’t want to be tough, I wanted to be strong, and I was strong, in my own way.

By attempting to be more of a girl, I learned the true strength of a woman. It wasn’t physical strength that I needed; instead, it was inner strength that we both have.

So there you have it. Happy Father’s Day.

