Jacquel Rassenworth on the end of July

July is now over and guess what? So is my time of being a kid.

Well, we all want to grow up, but none of us want to do the hard work that comes with growing up, which is why I have written a list of ways that we can get over our fear of becoming adults.

It’s time to get rid of all the toys that you’ve accumulated over the years. I mean, really get rid of them, don’t hide them in the closet. Give them to the Goodwill or the Salvation Army. You don’t need toys anymore; you’re an adult now and it’s time to get used to it.

Cancel your subscriptions to any magazine that centers on children and teenagers. Do you really want to be seen reading a magazine that was written for 14-year-olds? I didn’t think so.

Get out of the fantasy world that you’re living in. Fantasies are evil and addicting, even more addicting than drugs. If you have any problems, get immediate professional help; don’t allow yourself to wallow in your own filth. (I have lost several relatives to this “fantasizing” and I know that I’m prone to it. So I won’t go down that path that they took)

Realize that you’re an adult, not a little kid. That means that you have to learn how to take care of yourself. You can’t always rely on om and dad to take care of you anymore. Besides, who wants to be looked after by someone else when you can learn to take care of yourself?

Get a life. I mean, get out there and live. Don’t spend your days indoors locked away in a dark room; people will begin to think that there’s something wrong with you. We’ve already seen too many people living out their lives behind a computer; ditch the computer and get a life. (Sorry cousin Susanne, but nobody likes a recluse.)

Limit the amount of time that you spend on the Internet. Nuff said.

Learn to say goodbye to your youth and stop looking back on the old days. Nostalgia is an evil thing that hampers you from being an adult.

Well, that’s all for now; I’ll see you in August.

