Jacquel Rassenworth on the Challenger Disaster

Space Shuttle Challenger's smoke plume after t...
Space Shuttle Challenger’s smoke plume after the in-flight breakup that killed all seven crew members. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It seems that January 2016 is quickly becoming a month of sads.

Not only do we have to watch celebrities we love die, but last night, I got an email from Scott detailing the 30th anniversary of the Challenger Disaster. (Now I really wish I paid attention to Jametta Davis when she gave her presentation on the space shuttle program instead of passing notes!) At first, it took me a while to know what it was, as I had to go to Wikipedia, but when I heard that story, I had to ask dad where he was when the Challenger exploded.

He was a few years younger than I am now, a tenth grade student at St. Francis High School. His science teacher, Mr. Edwards, had the class watch the shuttle launch, only to watch the shuttle literally go up in smoke.

It was a national tragedy, one that sealed dad’s interest in science and space and steered him away from medicine.

Or even better, it hurt his science teacher, as one of the people who died on that shuttle was a teacher. (Which is also a sad, because her students were watching the Challenger launch when it exploded.)

So, as I close this blog post full of sads, I shall leave you with this line from President Ronald Reagan: “We will never forget them, nor the last time we saw them, this morning, as they prepared for their journey and waved goodbye and ‘slipped the surly bonds of Earth‘ to ‘touch the face of God’.”

