Jacquel Rassenworth on Star Trek Day 

Well, today is the 50th anniversary of the first episode of Star Trek, and as such, I see that most of my friends are posting their tributes to the TV show by the way of pictures. But where are the memes??? 

Anyway, as a kid who grew up watching Star Trek: Deep Space Nine, I learned that science fiction was more than simply intergalactic battles, that adventures can be had in space. Plus, I found myself dismissing Star Wars and its sequels because they didn’t have what it took to impress me. 

Of course, when I watched the first Star Trek reboot in 2009, I was blown away by the way the story presented itself. And the cast selected to play the characters was impressive. (Plus, it was great to see Leonard Nimoy as Spock again.) 

When the sequel came out, I let you know how excited I was about the movie on this blog. (And I was kind of upset when I found out about Benedict Cumberbatch’s role in that movie.) If you want to find that post, I’ll give you the links. 

Of course, I have my opinion on the latest Star Trek movie, but the blog ate that post. So I’ll just have to repost it soon. 

Other than that, I say let’s have another 50 years of Star Trek, as we need to go on a journey to a place where no one has gone before. 

