Jacquel Rassenworth on The Book Thief

Cover of "The Book Thief"

Cover of The Book Thief

I will admit that I wasn’t going to see this movie, and for a good reason: my grandparents had barely survived World War II and because they were Jewish, everything bad that happened to them did happen. My grandmother lost five members of her family to the gas chambers. So she really doesn’t want to be reminded of the oppression that she suffered as a Jewish girl growing up in Berlin, Germany during the rise of Adolf Hitler. My grandfather hates hearing about this time period, as it too reminded him of what he had lost during his years of fighting in the war.

Other than that, I liked hearing the story about a girl who stands up for what she believes in and tries to save as many books as she could. Save for a few books that I want to see banished from the face of the earth, no book deserves to be burned.

Now you know.